Awakened Beings


This book explains the var­i­ous stages of enlight­en­ment, con­tain­ing mate­r­i­al found in chap­ters 6–11 of Bud­dhad­ham­ma. It is a com­pan­ion vol­ume to the book on Nib­bā­na and to the book on Calm & Insight.

This book describes in detail the var­i­ous stages of enlight­en­ment, and shows how the Bud­dha defined a tru­ly ‘noble’ per­son. As the ven­er­a­ble author points out, there is a ten­den­cy to look at ful­ly awak­ened beings—arahants—in a negat­ing sense, by only focus­ing on those things they have aban­doned. He empha­sizes how such indi­vid­u­als are active­ly engaged in soci­ety, work­ing tire­less­ly for the well­be­ing of oth­ers. More­over, he describes the tru­ly emi­nent and extra­or­di­nary qual­i­ties of these ful­ly awak­ened indi­vid­u­als, includ­ing the mas­tery over their own per­cep­tions.

An out­stand­ing fea­ture of this book is its empha­sis on ‘stream-entry,’ the first stage of awak­en­ing, where one is ‘sure in des­tiny, with enlight­en­ment as one’s des­ti­na­tion.’ As Ajahn Payut­to points out, the encour­age­ment to reach stream-entry pro­vides a real­is­tic, less intim­i­dat­ing goal for our spir­i­tu­al aspi­ra­tions, while at the same time direct­ly con­nect­ing to the high­est human achieve­ment, of real­iz­ing Nib­bā­na, the com­plete and utter end of suf­fer­ing.


Cover of Awakened Beings


        Introduction (pdf)

Eight Noble Beings

        Eight Noble Beings (pdf)

Attributes of an Arahant

        Attributes of an Arahant (pdf)

Physical Development (bhāvita-kāya)

Moral Development (bhāvita-sīla)

Mental Development (bhāvita-citta)

      Wisdom Development (bhāvita-paññā)

Additional Attributes

Seven Noble Beings

King of Arahants

Distinctions Between Different Levels of Noble Beings

Factors of Stream-Entry

       Factors of Stream-Entry (pdf)

Attributes of Stream-Enterers

Buddha’s Words on Stream-Enterers

Additional Points on Stream-Enterers

Appendix 1: Sīlabbata-parāmāsa

Appendix 2: Learned Ones (sutavant), Noble Disciples (ariya-sāvaka), and Noble Dhamma (ariya-dhamma).

Appendix 3: Incentives for Giving

Appendix 4: Additional Scriptural Quotations